Beyoncé, I’m tired of seeing your thighs on TV

Posted on mai 8, 2010

15


I was sincerely disappointed after trying to watch Beyoncé latest video, « Why Don’t You Love Me ». I didn’t watch it entirely because I was fed up with seeing her thighs.

Aguilera's "Candyman" vs. Beyoncé's "Why Don't You Love Me"

Pin-ups from the 60's - Aguilera's "Candyman" vs. Beyoncé's "Why Don't You Love Me"

Three days ago, I heard that a video would help the promotion of the song « Why Don’t You Love Me ». On the screen capture from the teaser, Beyoncé is seen wearing a red bandana and an old-fashioned checked shirt. It reminded me of « Candyman »,  a video by a singer/strip-teaser known as Christina Aguilera. Well, since I already liked the song « Why Don’t You Love Me » I thought a video would make the best of the song. Wrong! As a housewife Ashanti was already that bad but with Beyoncé it’s even getting lower.
I shouldn’t have expected more from Beyoncé after all. It seems that recently she has only put out videos that work the streets, such as the mediocre « Telephone » video with Lady GaGa.

Sometimes, I wonder if it’s the same Beyoncé that used to sing against sleazy girls in the song « Nasty Girl »:

Booty all out, tongue out her mouth, cleavage from here to Mexico
She walks wit a twist, one hand on her hip, when she gets wit’cha she lets it go
(…)
Hard… for women like me who try to have some integrity
You make it hard… for girls like myself who respect themselves
And have dignity
You classless girl, you sleazy, you freaky
Lyrics from the song « Nasty Girls », perfomed by Beyoncé and the  Destiny’s Child

What about the others?

Why am I building a case on Beyoncé when a plethora of singers display their body shamelessly in low-quality videos? There are two reasons. First, making a list of all the brainless singers would take me forever. I would probably save time by listing the very few singers who have better taste. So for now, I’ll only talk about Beyoncé.

Ashanti's "Good Good" vs. Beyoncé's "Why Don't You Love Me"

They should rather be cleaning their wardrobe - Ashanti's "Good Good" vs. Beyoncé's "Why Don't You Love Me"

Secondly, I have seen Beyoncé last year during her « I Am » tour and her vocal abilities left me speechless. Because of her talent, I’m disappointed in her lack of taste. Most chicks like Ashanti, Britney Spears, Rihanna and others have a baby voice (if we can even call it a voice). Adopting an extravagant and gross style is the only option available to them in order to generate publicity. For a married-woman who dances as well as she sings and who often likes to remind us of her good family background, I feel that Beyoncé is not so great. It is more of an artistic rip-off.

The artistic rip-off

They dare call it Arts. Woe betide those who those who say out and loud that Lady GaGa for instance puts the feminine race to shame with her ridiculous outfits. (Sarcasm)
Oh my apologies! This is art!
What an insult to true artists!
It’s a growing trend for musicians to ruin interesting concepts with repetitive and promiscuous frames. It’s so easy to sway your hips on TV, however it is challenging stay classy and remain entertaining all the while. It requires a perfect command of one’s image, which few artists can brag about.

 Rihanna's "Rude Boy" vs. Beyoncé's "Why Don't You Love Me"

High in color, poor in taste - Rihanna's "Rude Boy" vs. Beyoncé's "Why Don't You Love Me"

We have to realize that promoting vulgarity can be very insidious. With vibrant colors and original concepts, some singers try to cloud the issue, but I don’t fall for this kind of rotten tricks. And don’t tell me that it’s just a video.  In the « popular music » category, you will find more than one of these foolish videos. Why wasting nice songs with cheap images?

The « Why Don’t You Love Me » video could have been a success simply because it is always ingenious to play a desperate women when you have the world at your feet and when you represent huge brands like L’Oréal. In top of the irony, the contrast of colors is striking, provided that you feel brave enough to watch the video in full.
If Melina Matsoukas (the video’s director) had leaned towards the trendy but clumsy side of Beyoncé a little more, she could have avoided scenes with garish indecency. In the end, « Why Don’t You Love Me » is no more than a pathetic remake of Rihanna’s « Rude Boy », a video that was also directed by Melina. She simply switched Rihanna’s Carribean feel with a retro 60 style.

I can’t stand visual nuissance so I’ll stick to albums only. No more videos. Seeing thighs is not my cup of tea.